Mediterranean Pork Steaks, and Adventures in Slow Cooking hit a stumbling block.

Hey all.

So I promised you I’d keep you updated with my adventures in getting ahead and slow cooking. Well, I hit a bit of a snag with that. Maybe you can help me out. I found a bunch of recipes on Pinterest (one of my fave hangouts), some of which recommended prepping a couple of batches of each meal, and freezing them raw, ready to defrost and pop in the slow cooker when needed.

Well, we tried a couple of recipes that included carrots and potatoes, and they did NOT turn out good at all. The carrots were both waterlogged and rubbery, and the potatoes were just wrong and blackened in colour.

I did however, try a couple of desserts, one was a chococolate fudge cake, and the other an apple, pear and pecan crumble. Both were delicious, and I didn’t even know you could cook cakes and desserts in the SC!! I promise I don’t live with my head under a rock.

So anyway, we now had at least five lots of meals in the freezer, which we were loathe to chuck in the slow cooker, for fear of yucky rubbery veggies again. Well, tonight it was the turn of the Mediterranean Pork Steaks, we defrosted it with trepidation. We had seen the idea on PinterBest, and tweaked it a lot. But instead of slow cooking it, I did it in the normal oven on low (about 140 fan).

Well, I couldn’t have been happier with the result. It smelled so good, and tasted totally scrumptious, so I thought I’d share the recipe with you. As for the Big Muvva slow cooker, I’m going to keep trying with it. Next I think I’ll give a roast chicken a go….

Mediterranean Pork Steaks

Open up 4 large ziplock freezer bags, and divide the following ingredients between the bags. Label clearly before freezing. Makes two meals, each serving 4-6, two bags for each meal…

  • 12 pork loin steaks (you can remove the fat now if you like, or once it’s cooked)
  • 2 onions, roughly chopped
  • 2 sweet potatoes, chopped in to chunks
  • 2 heaped tsp Oregano
  • 2-3 peppers, mixed colours.
  • 2 courgettes, chopped in to large chunks
  • 2 Tbsps Paprika
  • A few good shakes or a couple of teaspoons of savoury seasoning (I used Maggi liquid)
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

When you have defrosted and are ready to cook (or of course, you could cook it straight away)…

Put two of the packages of the pork mixture in to a casserole dish, add 1 cup of the liquid stock of your choice (I used Marigold Swiss Vegetable Bouillon Powder) cover and cook at 140 (fan assisted) or 160 conventional, for about 90 minutes. Or if you haven’t got slow cooker phobia like me šŸ˜‰, pop it in there for about 6-8 hours, but I can’t guarantee the same results.

We added black olives to ours after cooking, because we suddenly thought of it, but if desired you could add some before baking.

  
Enjoy x.

Leave a Reply

