Light ‘n easy baked eggs.

I have been daydreaming about my dinner all day. The kids were having nuggets and chips (Wednesday night easy tea). The fella is out tonight for dinner, so I could make myself whatever I wanted, as long as I had the ingredients in, because I was housebound (Bea has chicken pox still……covered!!)

I fancied eggs, and so decided to make an egg florentine type dish, although I didn’t have any fresh spinach. Bummer. I had red pepper though, and decided to go down a Spanish tapas route. I wanted to keep it quite light, so I had an idea to use part whole eggs and part egg whites. Oh my word, it was a winner, totally lived up to my daydreams. I love it when that happens!

Here is the recipe….



Light ‘n Easy Baked Eggs (serves 2)

You will need:

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 an onion, finely sliced

1/2 a red pepper, finely sliced

1 garlic clove, crushed

2 whole eggs, plus 2 egg whites

30g cheddar cheese

A pinch of smoked paprika

A Pinch of oregano (optional)

A pinch or cayenne pepper (optional)

Salt and pepper to taste.

How to:

1. Sauté the onion and red pepper in the olive oil, over a medium heat for about 5 minutes, then add the garlic and cook for a further minute, add the smoked paprika and Oregono if using. Transfer the vegetables to a small buttered dish (if you’re making for two. If you want to double the quantities for a family dinner, or to have leftovers for lunch boxes, obviously use a bigger dish).

Note: If I had had them, I would have added those fresh spinach leaves at this point.

2. Lightly whisk the egg whites, pour over the vegetables, then crack the whole eggs over the top, sprinkle with grated cheese, a little cayenne, if using, and season with salt and pepper to taste.

3. Bake in a preheated moderate oven for about 10 minutes, until golden and bubbling. If you like your yolk a little on the soft side keep a close eye on it.







You can add ham or cooked sausages to this dish, before cracking the eggs over….making it great for brunch, lunch, or dinner. It slices really well, and would be ideal for picnics too.

As it is, the egg bake alone comes in at about 65p per head, and makes for a filling, low-carb dinner. I had baked sweet potato with mine though, and plenty of broccoli.

Next time I will make extra for the whole family, plus some for lunchboxes. If you are counting the calories, there are around 190 per portion, and 12g fat.

Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

