‘Light-as-air’ No Added Fat, Sponge Sandwich Cake

20140224-141712.jpg

My eldest son and husband’s birthdays fall 3 days apart. This year I made my boy a very indulgent Rolo Chocolate Explosion cake. So when, 3 days later, I got the whole block of butter out of the fridge to make the Fella’s cake (as you know he’s trying to shed a pond or 50), he told me not to worry about making it. I could see the disappointment in his little face. Of course he wanted a birthday cake. So I looked around for a lower fat alternative.

I came across a recipe, recommended on Caloriecount.about.com. There was no fat added to it at all, we’d gone from one extreme to the other! Now, I’ve tried low fat cake recipes before. Some of them are the texture of an actual sponge…not good. However, I thought I’d take a chance and give it a try anyway. If it was a disaster I’d buy him a cake.

I was a little alarmed when the sandwich tins came out of the oven looking like they contained a pair of Granny’s stockings (sorry, I hope I haven’t put you off now), but I tried to keep an open mind.

20140224-161618.jpg
My six 36 year-old husband had requested chocolate buttercream and buttons on the top of the cake, with jam and cream sandwiched inside (He usually requests a Hedgehog cake, so I got off lightly I reckon). As I turned the cakes out of the tins they felt as light as air! The buttercream was tricky to spread on top without pulling bits of cake off with it, but I made it work. It wasn’t going on the cover of a food magazine after all.

20140224-162215.jpg
I tried the cake both at room temperature, and from the fridge, both times an absolute delight.

The recipe is measured in Cups. Sorry to all my Metric/British readers. I’d recommend buying a set of metal cup measures though. They are quicker than weighing everything out all the time.

Ingredients
~3 eggs, separated
~pinch salt
~1/2 cup sugar
~1/2 cup cornflour
~2 tsp flour
~1 tsp baking powder

1. Beat the egg whites and salt until stiff.

2. Gradually add the sugar, beating until dissolved.

3. Add the egg yolks, beating until well blended.

4. Sift together the cornflour, flour and baking powder. Then fold into the egg mixture.

5. Divide the batter between two greased and lined 20cm cake tins. I got my round cake cases from Poundland. They’re not the best quality, but they did the job.

6. Bake at 190 degrees (350) gas mark 5 (fan 170)
for 15-20 minutes, until it springs back when lightly touched.
Leave to cool in the tins for about 10 minutes, before turning out onto a cooling rack.

When completely cool, add your choice of filling.
I think it would be lovely with lemon or passion fruit curd and Mascarpone, with icing sugar lightly dusted over the top. Or with whipped cream and fresh fruit, classic Victoria sponge-style. It is so moist and light, yet sweet enough to feel like you’ve had a treat. There are roughly 110 calories (1.7 g fat) per 8th of a cake, not including the filling…if you’re counting.

Enjoy! Why not take a picture of yours and post it on our Facebook page?

One response to “‘Light-as-air’ No Added Fat, Sponge Sandwich Cake

  1. I tried this today with a lemon curd and Quark (not as in Star Trek) filling. (I’m ashamed that I even know that that’s a character in Star Trek. What can I say? My husband’s a little bit Geek). To see how I made it, and a not very revealing picture of it, hop on over to our Facebook page. See you over there.

Leave a Reply

