Sausage and Pepper Stew. Oh yeah! *Does a victory dance*

I had a flash of inspiration when my husband asked me what was for dinner tonight, on his way out of the door to work this morning. Because some days, I don’t know about you, but I just really don’t know, and I can’t think of a single meal idea that I’ve got all the ingredients for without having to go to the supermarket…again.
But this morning I remembered the packet of sausages in the fridge, and a bag of mixed peppers that needed using up. This Sausage and Pepper Stew is so easy to make, and can be served with rice, pasta, potatoes, jacket spuds, anything. The great bit is that it feeds a family of four for around 90p per head including accompanying carbs. In fact, the following quantities fed the six of us quite heartily, and therefore made it only 70p per head!
It is so good to eat (and I’m usually my harshest critic!) You get the savoury herby-ness from the sausages, a comforting sweetness from the peppers and sugar, and a subtle warmth from the paprika. Needless to say I’ll be making this one again too.

20130829-190646.jpg

Here are the ingredients:
1 packet of 8 Lincolnshire sausages (or of your choice).
1 onion, chopped
3 peppers, the colours of your choice, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tin chopped tomatoes ( I also added 250g of passata to bulk it out, but you can leave it out)
2 tsp sugar
1 Tbsp paprika
I courgette, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste, plus a couple of shakes of Cayenne (if you have some in the cupboard)

How to make it:
~Brown the sausages lightly on all sides in a dry non-stick pan
~Remove, and set aside
~Throw the onions and peppers into the pan and cook for a few minutes, over a medium heat
~Add the garlic, and cook for a further minute, stirring
~Meanwhile, slice the sausages, then add them back to the pan
~Stir in the paprika and Cook for a further minute
~Add the tomatoes and sugar, and season carefully
~ Cover with a lid and simmer for an hour, adding the courgette half way through
~If you like a bit of extra heat, add the Cayenne towards the end.

Like I said, you can serve this with pretty much anything, and it would freeze pretty well too. There won’t be any left though…

Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

