Oven-Baked Barbecue Chilli, Leftover Wraps and (dare-I-say-it?) perfect rice

I have been promising to post this recipe for a number of weeks now, and I’m finally making good on my word. I came across this in a Pampered Chef (‘Stoneware Favourites’) book I had lurking in my recipe drawer (anyone else have a drawer dedicated to recipe cuttings? One day I’ll file them all.)

I’ve been putting off posting this recipe, as I’ve worked out that it costs more than 80p per head…but it’s less than £1 per head. And you have to have a treat now and then, especially at the weekend.

My kids love the barbecue flavour of this slow-cooked Chilli...and the meat is so tender!

My kids love the barbecue flavour of this slow-cooked Chilli…and the meat is so tender!

It’s one of those chuck-it-all-in-a-pot-and-let-the-oven-do-the-rest sort of meals, leaving you free to do more stuff like this…

IMG_1214

Preheat the oven to 180, then chuck the following ingredients into a casserole or roasting tin:

900 g lean stewing beef or braising steak, cut into 1 cm cubes (seriously, you don’t have to measure!)

4 cloves garlic, crushed

2 onions, coarsely chopped

2 green peppers, seeded and diced (I think I ended up putting about 4 peppers of various colours in)

2 tbsp hot or mild chilli powder

2 cans chopped tomatoes in juce, undrained

225 ml passata

175 ml barbecue sauce

2 tbsp cider vinegar

I have to say, I usually prefer to brown the meat, then saute the onion on the hob in the roasting tray first, before adding the other ingredients. But essentially this can be thrown together from raw, and that is how the recipe dictates. This could also be cooked in a slow cooker.

I love the colours, you just know it's gonna taste good.

I love the colours, you just know it’s gonna taste good.

My kids love the barbecue flavour of this slow-cooked Chilli, and the meat is so tender!

Just before it goes in the oven

Cover the pot, and bake in the preheated oven for 2 1/2 hours in total, but add two tins of drained and rinsed kidney beans after 90 minutes.

If you are serving with wedges, cut a load of red-skinned potatoes in half lengthways, then again and again… getting roughly 4-6 wedges per potato.

Place in a large bowl, and toss with a tablespoon or two of olive oil, then spread out on a baking sheet. Mix together some salt, pepper, paprika, smoked paprika (if you have it) and oregano, and sprinkle some over the wedges. If you have a double oven, roast at about 200 degrees for 30-40 minutes, turning about 2/3 way through.

When the chilli is ready, serve with soured cream, spring onions and grated cheese…or, you know…don’t.

IMG_1219

This served 6 of us, with a load left for Leftover Wraps another night….

…which is what we had tonight. We love finger food on a Saturday night. It’s the only night of the week we have a TV dinner, so these wraps are great for that!

First I made the rice. Now, I know loads of people who say they can never get rice right. It can often be wet and pappy, or hard and chalkey. I have tried so many different ways of cooking it…usually based on advice from TV chefs. I’ve sauted onion in butter, I’ve boiled the rice, then transferred it to a steamer. Oh my word, what a faff?!

Finally I have found a ‘foolproof’ method. I’m not sure where or who I got it from, but I have been making consistently good rice for weeks and weeks now. Here’s how it’s done….

Measure out your rice, based on 50g per adult serving. Rinse in a sieve, then place in a saucepan and add twice the volume of boiling water. the best way to work this out is by placing your rice in a measuring jug first, to find out it’s volume. Another quick way, is by measuring in cups. I.e 1 cup of rice and 2 cups of water would easily feed 4 adults.

Bring the rice to the boil, add a pinch of salt, stir with a fork, then cover with a lid and reduce the heat to the lowest setting for 10 minutes. Remove from the heat and leave the lid on for a further 5 minutes. After this time, check on it, fluffing the grains with the fork. If it’s cooked, but still a bit wet, I would recommend leaving a clean teatowel over the pan for a few minutes to soak up the moisture, but if it’s still a bit chalkey leave the lid on and allow the steam to continue cooking the rice for a few minutes.

While the rice was cooling a little, I heated the leftover chilli mixture with some rinsed baked beans (just to bulk it out a bit). I then spirinkle some chopped spring onions and grated cheese over a tortilla wrap, then added some chilli mix and some rice, before tucking in the left and right, then rolling neatly into a log shape, being careful not to let the filling spill out. I then wrapped the wrap (?!) in foil, before heating in the oven at 200 degrees for about 20 minutes.

IMG_1323

I made 8 generous wraps from the leftover chilli, which meant that holding back on seconds the first time round really made this ‘treat’ meal a bit more economical, at around £1 per head. Back to the 80p challenge on Monday!

6 responses to “Oven-Baked Barbecue Chilli, Leftover Wraps and (dare-I-say-it?) perfect rice

  1. I have to add…I once tried cooking some really basic, cheap rice (from Aldi), using the above method. Not good…really wet and pappy. I guess sometimes you really do get what you pay for.

  2. Hi Hun. Have you any suggestions for bulking things out without using any type of beans? E can’t eat them! Very frustrating and costly! H doesn’t eat potatoes either do can’t use them. I tend to use the above and pick them out but it’s a faff! Any ideas welcome. Kx

    • Hmm, a very good question. Let me ponder (rests chin on hands)…Lentils are very good, although not in this dish. I would usually add extra chopped toms or passata to leftover bolognese or chilli. Or mushrooms, or sweetcorn. In a casserole I would use Pearl Barley or Country Vegetable Mixture (near the lentils in the shops), but it’s got green beans in. Can E have them? But the potatoes one, that’s just not fair! Mind you, there’s always rice and pasta. Can you tell I’m a carbs girl ;0)

      • Thanks, I’m not sure about lentils, E can’t tolerate pearl barley (my mum tries to sneak this in some times!) I do tend to use tinned tomatoes and fresh mushrooms to bulk things out. the veg mix sounds good though, I’ll look out for that. Blooming kids!

  3. This looks delicious Cesca! My kids too would love this and it’s another chance to use my wonderful slow cooker – love it! I find that wholemeal rice is a great alternative and makes better (less pappy) rice and it’s good for you :)

    • Yeah, I go through phases where I buy brown rice, with the best of intentions, but then hardly use it. If I remember correctly it takes longer to cook, so I’m not sure if the above method could be followed precisely. I hope it works well in your slow cooker. Let me know. I can’t find mine anywhere. B reckons we tipped it, but I’m not so sure.

Leave a Reply

